PM Modi Swearing in Ceremony: BJP veterans To Decide Team Modi

Vishal Chauhan, 30/05/2019
PM Modi Swearing in Ceremony: BJP veterans To Decide Team Modi

Hours before the swearing in, Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah met at the Prime Minister’s residence for a final round of talks on Thursday, 30 May.

Earlier, Narendra Modi paid tribute to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat and former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee at Atal Samadhi. He also placed a wreath at the National War Memorial adjoining the India Gate in New Delhi.

Modi is all set to be sworn in as prime minister for the second consecutive term on Thursday at a grand ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, with over 8,000 guests expected to be in attendance, including Congress President Rahul Gandhi, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and leaders from BIMSTEC countries.

President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the Oath of Office and Secrecy to Modi and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at 7 pm on Thursday.


  • Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik will not attend the swearing-in of Narendra Modi as prime minister
  • West Bengal CM and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee said she has been “compelled not to attend” the swearing-in, as she remarked that the ceremony should not be used as an “opportunity to score political points”

10:48 AM, 30 May

PM Modi and Amit Shah Hold Final Round of Talks

Hours before the swearing in, Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah met at the Prime Minister’s residence for a final round of talks. On the eve of his swearing-in for a second term, Modi on Wednesday, 29 May, held a marathon meeting with Shah as he gave final touches to the shape of his government, which is likely to have representation from most allies and showcase the party's newfound strength in different regions.

10:35 AM, 30 May

Delhi Police Issues Traffic Advisory Ahead of Swearing In

10:12 AM, 30 May

Shiv Sena's Arvind Sawant to Be Inducted in Modi Ministry

Arvind Sawant, Shiv Sena MP from Mumbai South, will be sworn in as Union minister on Thursday, a senior party leader said.

He will replace Anant Geete, the lone Sena minister in the previous Narendra Modi-led government, who lost from the Raigad Lok Sabha seat in last month's election, the leader said Wednesday.

Sawant, 68, who retained his seat by defeating Congress' Milind Deora by 1,00,067 votes, has been associated with the Shiv Sena since the party's early years.

Sawant is a deputy leader of the Shiv Sena, and also president of the MTNL trade union.

8:00 AM, 30 May

Foreign Secretary Receives Bhutan PM

Foreign Secretary Vijay Gokhle receives Prime Minister of Bhutan, Lotay Tshering on his arrival in Delhi. He will attend PM Narendra Modi's oath-taking ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan later today.

7:36 AM, 30 May

Modi Pays Tribute at National War Memorial

Prime Minister Narendra Modi pays tribute at the National War Memorial in Delhi.

7:33 AM, 30 May

PM-Designate Modi, Amit Shah Pay Tributes at Atal Samadhi

Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi and Bharatiya Janata Party President Amit Shah pay tribute at Sadaiv Atal Samadhi, the memorial of late Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
(Photo: ANI)

(Photo: ANI)

(Photo: ANI)

7:32 AM, 30 May

PM Modi Pays Tribute at Rajghat

Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi pays tribute to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat, ahead of the swearing-in ceremony later in the day.

9:45 PM, 29 May

Who All Are Invited for Modi’s Swearing-In?

The who's who of the country from sports legends Rahul Dravid and Saina Nehwal to movie superstars Rajinikanth and Shah Rukh Khan have been invited to Prime Minister Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony on Thursday, sources cited by PTI said.

Industry bigwigs such as Mukesh Ambani, Gautam Adani and Ratan Tata have also been invited for the event, they said.

Former sprinter PT Usha, cricketers Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath and Harbhajan Singh, badminton coach Pulella Gopichand and gymnast Dipa Karmakar are among the other sports personalities invited to the ceremony, the sources said.

Several film stars, including Kangana Ranaut, Shah Rukh Khan, Sanjay Bhansali and Karan Johar have also been invited.

On the political front, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi, former PM Manmohan Singh, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and Telangana CM K Chandrashekar Rao are the prominent faces who are attending.

Foreign leaders including Bangladesh President Abdul Hamid, Sri Lanka President Maithripala Sirisena, Kyrgyzstan President Sooronbay Jeenbekov, Myanmar President U Win Myint, Mauritius PM Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Nepal PM KP Sharma Oli, Bhutan PM Lotay Tshering, and special envoy of Thailand Grisada Boonrach have also confirmed their participation at the swearing-in ceremony.

More Stories in News


Kisan Rally: Schools, Universities in Ghaziabad To Stay Close Because Of Agriculturists' Dissents-Karsoo

By Bhavana Sharma - 03/10/2018

Delhi police have forced prohibitory requests in the regions flanking Uttar Pradesh envisioning peace issues. Here are the features.


Sri Lanka Blasts: Troops Find 15 Bodies in Raid on Hideout.

By Vishal Chauhan - 27/04/2019

Sri Lankan police have found at least 15 bodies, including six children, after a raid in east Sri Lanka on militants linked to the Easter bombings, reported AP. The police suspect that some of the dead likely were militants who blew themselves up in suicide bombings.


Kerala gets ready update looking for more subsidizes

By Vibhoo Sachan - 27/08/2018

After a quieted Onam, Kerala woke up on Sunday to the monstrosity of recovery and reclamation of ordinary life crushed by the uncommon surges in the focal areas of the State.


Microsoft surpasses Apple to becomes world’s most valuable company!

By Vishal Chauhan - 28/11/2018

Microsoft Corporation surpassed Apple Inc. to become the world’s most valuable publicly traded company. All it took was a $300 billion rout.


Madhya Pradesh elections 2018: Will BJP be hurt by Rural Populations Anger and Corruption?

By Vishal Chauhan - 28/11/2018

The 2013 Madhya Pradesh elections were part of the poll-cycle which marked the beginning of the Modi wave. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) got two-third majority in the state.

View More Stories