Sam Curran Becomes Youngest Bowler Ever to Take an IPL Hat-Trick.

Vishal Chauhan, 02/04/2019
Sam Curran Becomes Youngest Bowler Ever to Take an IPL Hat-Trick.

Kings XI Punjab’s Sam Curran took a hat-trick and finished with figures of 4/11 as Delhi Capitals lost their last seven wickets for eight runs in the span of 16 balls. In the process the Shreyas Iyer-led side capitulated from being 144 /4 to 152 all out, while chasing 167 in Mohali.

This is also the first hat-trick of the 12th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) as Sam Curran became the youngest bowler to take a hat-trick in IPL. At 20 years and 302 days, Sam overtook Rohit Sharma, who took a hat-trick against Deccan Chargers in the 2009 edition of the IPL at 22 years and 6 days.

Curran’s hat-trick victims included Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada and Sandeep Lamicchane. Chasing 167 for victory, Delhi were placed comfortably at 144/2 with Rishabh Pant (39) and Colin Ingram (38) at the crease.

However, once Delhi lost, Ingram, in the 18th over off Curran, Delhi lost track of their run-chase. Curran then came back in the final over to take a hat-trick and close the game for Punjab.

Earlier Delhi skipper Shreyas Iyer won the toss and opted to field first. A combined effort from the Delhi bowlers helped them restrict Punjab to a manageable total. Chris Morris took 3 for 30, while Kagiso Rabada took 2 for 32 and Sandeep Lamichhane took 2 for 27.

But the night belonged to England’s Sam Curran. Apart from the hat-trick with the ball, Curran scored a quickfire 20 off 10 balls after he replaced Gayle at the top of the batting order, who was sitting out with an injury.

His contribution also becomes important in the context that he was dropped after Punjab played their campaign opener with Rajasthan and was ignored for the next two.

Twitter was all praise for Curran’s on-field heroics. Here are some of the best tweets on Curran’s feat:




More Stories in Sports


Official Warm-Up Fixtures for ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2019 Announced.

By Vishal Chauhan - 01/02/2019

The official warm-up fixtures to be played in the lead-up to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 in England and Wales have today been announced.


India vs England , 5th Test The Oval, London

By Sujit Singh - 08/09/2018

The Indian cricket group bowlers ricocheted back in the last session of the day as England bumbled to 198/7 at stumps on Day 1 in the fifth and last Test at the Oval on Friday. Pacer Ishant Sharma was the pick of the bowlers for India scalping three wickets for 28 runs. Individual pacer Jasprit Bumrah and spinner Ravindra Jadeja picked two wickets each. Hosts England lost wickets with hardly a pause in between in the third session as they were diminished from 123/1 to 198/7 in a matter of moments. Playing his goodbye Test, Alastair Cook remained the best scorer of the day scoring 71 runs while Moeen Ali (50) indented up his thirteenth 50 years. Adil Rashid (4 not out) and Jos Buttler (11 not out) were at wrinkle when umpires chose to consider it daily.


Players to Watch at the 2019 ICC World Cup

By Vishal Chauhan - 24/05/2019

At a big ticket tournament like the ICC World Cup, the spotlight is always on the big players and the big names to step up and fulfil the expectations of their fans. Virat Kohli, Jos Buttler, Rohit Sharma and David Warner are some of the players who start the tournament in England with the pressure of knowing their performances will be detrimental to how far their teams go in the big event.


ICC World Cup 2019 Opening Ceremony: From Starting To End

By Vishal Chauhan - 30/05/2019

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 officially kick started on Wednesday, 29 May, with a stupendous opening ceremony in front of the Buckingham Palace in London. The ceremony was hosted by the former England cricketer, Andrew Flintoff and Shibani Dandekar from India.


Asian Games 2018: Medal Winners from India

By Bhavana Sharma - 30/11/2018

The 18th Asian games which held in two cities of Jakarta and Palembang in Indonesia. Indian athletes managed to grab their best ever medal pull in Indonesia as they won 69 medals (15 Gold, 24 Silver and 30 Bronze). Neeraj Chopra the gold medalist was the flag bearer for the opening ceremony while Rani Rampal was named for the flag bearer for the closing ceremony.  

View More Stories